Glen Campbell - Home For The Holidays CD

MSRP: $12.99
(You save $1.00 )
Calculated at Checkout

Product Overview

This is a surprisingly beautiful album from a legendary crossover artist who obviously intended to make a type of Christmas album in the Nat King Cole or Perry Como tradition with barely a trace of country in its arrangements or vocal delivery. This approach works quite well thanks to some stellar orchestra arrangements from the legendary Nashville conductor Bergen White who always manages to bring a lush sound to songs without overwhelming the singer or the other instrumentalists. No less an artist than Elvis Presley requested his services when he returned to Las Vegas in the seventies to begin arranging some of his material including elvis's distinct versions of Polk Salad Annie and Bridge Over Troubled Water among others.

Campbell treats these traditional Christmas songs in a reverential way with a beautiful mixture of the secular and the religious. All standards here as there is no thought to recording have baked originals that would not stand up to songs like The Christmas Song, Little Drummer Boy or O Holy Night. Also included in this fine collection are two amazingly beautiful medleys woven together so lovely by Mr. White and his fellow Nashville musicians. The first is Away in a Manger Medley including its namesake as well as O Little Town of Bethlehem and the First Noel.  The second one is Hark the Herald Angels Sing featuring that song as well as O Come, O Come Emmanuel and We Three Kings. Both of these Medleys are sang delicately and passionately with full orchestrations that feature elegant strings and subtle yet sublime use of brass and horns.

This is a highly recommended album that ranks as one of the best Christmas albums to ever come out of a Nashville studio.
No pretentions of trying to be country with its openly and undeniably pop arrangements. An album that will be played repeatedly for years to come.


  1. The Christmas Song
  2. Away in a Manger Medley
  3. It Came Upon A Midnight Clear
  4. Little Drummer Boy
  5. What Child Is This?
  6. I'll Be Home For Christmas
  7. Hark Herald Angels Medley
  8. Silent Night
  9. Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  10. O Holy Night

Product Videos